Husky HB4500 Brute Power Jack Review (2026): Spec-Strong A-Frame Lifter

Husky HB4500 Brute Power Jack Review (2026): Spec-Strong A-Frame Lifter

Updated September 2026

Husky HB4500 Brute Power Jack review: 4,500 lb capacity, 18 in travel, 25 amp draw. What the spec sheet actually tells y...

15 min read

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Husky HB4500 4500 lbs. Brute Power Jack, Hammer Gray Finish — Manufacturer product photo
Manufacturer product photo

Last Updated: September 2026

Cranking a tongue jack by hand gets old fast, and the shopping question is usually simple: does this electric jack lift enough, travel far enough, and draw little enough current to live on your trailer battery? This review reads the published listing data for the Husky HB4500 4500 lbs. Brute Power Jack, Hammer Gray Finish closely and says what those numbers mean for an A-frame trailer owner. Nobody on this site has installed, wired, lifted with, or handled this jack — this website does not do hands-on testing, and every conclusion below is drawn from published specifications.

Check Price on Amazon

Review at a Glance

ProductHusky HB4500 4500 lbs. Brute Power Jack, Hammer Gray Finish
Price
Best ForA-frame travel trailer owners who want a 4,500 lb-rated electric jack with an 18-inch vertical range and built-in hookup lighting
Rated Capacity4,500 lb, per the listing
Travel18 inches, plus a 6-inch drop-down leg

Supported strengths

Limitations worth knowing before you buy
Products covered on this page
Product titles, images, feature bullets and prices below come from Amazon and were read at publish time; prices and availability change. As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases. Amazon supplies no written product description, so the one-line summary under each product is ours, generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications.
Husky HB4500 4500 lbs. Brute Power Jack, Hammer Gray Finish
Husky HB4500 4500 lbs. Brute Power Jack, Hammer Gray Finish
$275.14price read from Amazon at publish time
  • BRUTE ELECTRIC TONGUE JACK WITH 4500 LB CAPACITY – Powerful electric jack designed to raise and lower A-frame trailers quickly, easily, and with minimal effort
  • 18 INCH TRAVEL WITH 6 INCH DROP-DOWN LEG – Wide vertical range provides flexibility for various trailer heights, ground conditions, and hitch alignments
Feature bullets above are Amazon's own product data.
Amazon listing, priced $275.14 at the time this page was published. (generated from Amazon Creators title/features/specifications)
Check price on Amazon

Quick Picks

ProductRated CapacityTravelStated Current DrawLink
Husky HB4500 4500 lbs. Brute Power Jack, Hammer Gray Finish4,500 lb18 in travel + 6 in drop-down leg25 ampsCheck Price on Amazon

Overview: What the Listing and Specifications Show

The Husky HB4500 4500 lbs. Brute Power Jack, Hammer Gray Finish is an electric tongue jack for A-frame trailers, rated by the listing at 4,500 lb and published with 18 inches of travel plus a 6-inch drop-down leg. Those two numbers do most of the buying decision on their own.

Here's the thing about tongue jacks: capacity and travel are not interchangeable. Capacity tells you what the jack is rated to lift. Travel tells you whether it can lift far enough to clear your hitch ball, level the trailer nose-high on a sloped site, or drop low enough to meet a truck that sits lower than the trailer coupler.

The HB4500's listing pairs a 4,500 lb rating with 18 inches of powered travel and a 6-inch drop-down leg [S3]. For the Husky HB4500 4500 lbs. Brute Power Jack, Hammer Gray Finish, the listing publishes 18 inches of travel and a 6-inch drop-down leg without stating how the leg operates, and the drop-down leg is what helps on soft or low ground where travel alone would run out before the foot loads up. Read those as two separate ranges, not as 24 inches of powered lift.

One clarification the listing itself invites: tongue weight, not gross trailer weight, is what a tongue jack carries. A 4,500 lb jack rating is not a statement about what size trailer you may tow. Confirm your trailer's actual tongue weight and your coupler's design against the manufacturer's guidance before assuming this jack suits your rig.

Key Features and Specifications

SpecificationPublished ValueSource
Rated capacity4,500 lbAmazon listing feature bullet, retrieved 2026-09-10
Powered travel18 inchesAmazon listing feature bullet, retrieved 2026-09-10
Drop-down leg6 inchesAmazon listing feature bullet, retrieved 2026-09-10
Work lights3 standard LED lightsAmazon listing feature bullet, retrieved 2026-09-10
End-of-travel cutoffSmart Stop timing system (planetary gear) shuts off power before the hard mechanical stopAmazon listing feature bullet, retrieved 2026-09-10
Current draw25 ampsAmazon listing feature bullet, retrieved 2026-09-10
Trailer typeA-frameAmazon listing feature bullet, retrieved 2026-09-10
FinishHammer GrayProduct title, Amazon Creators API verified product record, retrieved 2026-09-10
WarrantyNot stated in the supplied listing information
Mounting dimensionsNot stated in the supplied listing information

Check Price on Amazon

The Smart Stop System, Explained Without Hype

The listing describes Smart Stop as a planetary gear timing system that shuts off power before the jack reaches its hard mechanical stop, which the manufacturer says reduces stress on the jack and lowers current draw [S3].

That's a meaningful design intent. On a conventional electric jack, running the screw all the way into its end stop is exactly the moment the motor stalls and current spikes. Cutting power a beat early — if it behaves as described — is aimed at avoiding that end-stop stall; the listing claims only reduced stress on the jack and lower current draw, and says nothing about protection against lifting an over-capacity load.

What the listing does not establish is how many cycles the timing system tolerates, whether it resets automatically, or what happens if the trailer is loaded beyond rating. Treat the benefit as the manufacturer's stated design goal, not a proven longevity figure.

25 Amps and What It Implies

The listing publishes a 25 amp current draw and describes the jack as quiet and economical to operate, easy to use in campgrounds and shared spaces [S3].

Inference, clearly flagged as such: a 25 amp draw is a load your trailer's 12 V battery and its jack circuit need to be sized and fused for. Amp draw published for an appliance does not tell you what your trailer's wiring, breaker, or battery state of charge can safely deliver. Check the jack's own installation instructions and your trailer manufacturer's circuit specification before wiring, and do not derive circuit sizing from this review.

The practical read: a jack that pulls 25 amps in a short lift cycle is a very different battery proposition than a converter or an inverter running continuously. Short cycles are the normal use case here. That's why the number is worth knowing but shouldn't panic anyone with a healthy battery.

The LED Work Lights

Three standard LED work lights illuminate the coupler and hookup area, which the listing frames as making trailer connections easier in low-light and nighttime conditions [S3].

Honestly, this is the feature that earns its keep on arrival day. Anyone who has backed a trailer into a site after sunset knows the problem is not the trailer — it's seeing the coupler and ball while someone else guides you. Integrated lighting at the jack head puts the light exactly where the alignment happens.

The supplied listing information does not state lumen output, beam pattern, or whether the lights operate independently of the lift function. Buy this for convenience lighting; don't assume it replaces a work lamp.

Expected Performance, Based on Manufacturer and Listing Data

The listing describes the HB4500 as designed to raise and lower A-frame trailers quickly, easily, and with minimal effort [S3]. It does not publish a lift speed in inches per minute, and no lift-time figure appears in the supplied record — so any specific timing claim would be invented, and you won't find one here.

What the numbers do support is a reasoned expectation about fit rather than speed:

What the supplied record cannot establish: duty cycle, sealing against rain and road spray, cold-weather behavior, noise level in decibels, or how the jack performs after years of exposure. The listing calls operation quiet but publishes no measured sound figure, so treat that as marketing language rather than a spec.

Build Quality and Design

The honest answer: the supplied listing information does not state housing material, gear material, screw type, thread pitch, weather sealing, or finish thickness. That's a real evidence gap, and pretending otherwise would be the easy lie.

What the record does establish is a Hammer Gray finish and a planetary gear drivetrain associated with the Smart Stop timing system [S3]. Planetary gearing is a design choice that distributes load across multiple gear teeth rather than concentrating it, which is why it appears in compact high-torque applications. That's general engineering context, not a durability claim about this specific unit.

For mounting, the number you need is not in the supplied record. No tube diameter, bolt pattern, or mounting-plate dimension is stated, and a rated capacity tells you nothing about whether the jack bolts to your A-frame. Verify the mounting specification against the manufacturer's installation instructions and your trailer's existing jack mount before ordering.

Value for Money

Check current price on Amazon — offers move, and a static page shouldn't pretend to know today's number.

On value logic rather than price: an electric jack earns its cost through the number of hookups you do per season and the physical difficulty of cranking. If you camp four weekends a year on level pavement, a manual jack is genuinely fine. If you set up thirty times a year, or if anyone in the household can't comfortably crank a loaded tongue, the calculus flips quickly.

Within that logic, the HB4500's published feature set — 4,500 lb rating, 18 inches of travel, a 6-inch drop-down leg, three LED work lights, a 25 amp draw and the Smart Stop timing system — covers the things buyers usually pay extra for individually [S3]. The unknowns (warranty, sealing, duty cycle) are the risk you're accepting.

Husky HB4500 vs a Manual Trailer Jack

The comparison most shoppers actually run isn't against another electric jack — it's against the crank handle already on their trailer. Here's the framing that matters:

If you tow rarely and store the trailer somewhere flat, the manual jack you already own is not holding you back. If setup happens often, in the dark, on varied ground, the electric jack changes the experience of every single hookup.

Who Should Buy This

Strong fit: owners of A-frame travel trailers whose actual tongue weight is comfortably under the 4,500 lb rating, who hook up frequently, and who value integrated coupler lighting [S3]. The 18-inch travel plus 6-inch drop-down leg suits people who camp on ground that isn't reliably level [S3].

Think harder: anyone with a non-A-frame tongue, since the listing specifies A-frame trailers [S3]. Anyone who needs a documented warranty term or an ingress-protection rating before purchase should get those in writing from the manufacturer, because the supplied listing information does not state them.

Skip it: occasional towers on flat pavement with a working manual jack and no lifting difficulty. There's no spec here that makes the upgrade urgent for that buyer.

How We Research

This website does not perform hands-on or laboratory testing, and it says so on every page. For this review, the research consisted of pulling the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B004OK77L2 on 2026-09-10 and reading each published product listing feature bullet closely — capacity, travel, lighting, the Smart Stop end-of-travel cutoff and current draw — then reasoning about what those published figures imply for an A-frame trailer owner.

Where the supplied listing information does not state a value, this review says so rather than filling the gap from memory. No star rating or review-count data was supplied for this product, so no owner-feedback conclusions appear above. For general consumer safety and recall information, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission [S1] and USA.gov's consumer protection resources [S2] are the appropriate public references.

Final Verdict

Opinionated take: on published specifications alone, the Husky HB4500 4500 lbs. Brute Power Jack, Hammer Gray Finish is a sensibly specified electric tongue jack for A-frame travel trailers, and the combination that makes it interesting is 18 inches of powered travel plus a 6-inch drop-down leg alongside the 4,500 lb rating [S3]. Range plus capacity is what actually determines whether a jack works at your campsite, and both numbers here are published and specific.

The Smart Stop timing system and three LED work lights are the features that separate it from a bare motorized screw, and the 25 amp published draw is a number you can plan a battery around [S3].

What should hold you back is fit verification, not the spec sheet. Confirm your trailer's tongue weight, your A-frame mounting pattern, and the jack's installation requirements with the manufacturer before buying, because none of those are established in the supplied listing information. Do that homework and this is a reasonable pick for frequent hookups on uneven ground.

Check Price on Amazon

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the lifting capacity of the Husky HB4500? The listing rates it at 4,500 lb for raising and lowering A-frame trailers [S3]. Remember that a tongue jack carries tongue weight, not gross trailer weight, so match the rating to your trailer's measured tongue weight rather than its total weight.

How much travel does the HB4500 have? The published figure is 18 inches of travel plus a 6-inch drop-down leg [S3]. The supplied listing information does not state how the drop-down leg operates, so ask the manufacturer how that 6-inch range is obtained.

How many amps does the Husky HB4500 draw? The listing states a 25 amp current draw [S3]. What your trailer's circuit can safely supply is a separate question determined by your wiring, fusing and battery — check the jack's installation instructions and your trailer manufacturer's specification.

Does the Husky HB4500 have lights? Yes — three standard LED work lights are built in to illuminate the coupler and hookup area for low-light and nighttime connections [S3]. Lumen output is not stated in the supplied listing information.

What is the Smart Stop system? The listing describes it as a planetary gear timing system that shuts off power before the jack reaches its hard mechanical stop, which the manufacturer says reduces stress on the jack and lowers current draw [S3]. The supplied record does not state cycle limits or reset behavior.

Will the HB4500 fit my trailer? The listing specifies A-frame trailers [S3], but no mounting bolt pattern, tube diameter or overall dimensions appear in the supplied listing information. Verify the mounting specification with the manufacturer against your existing jack mount before ordering.

Is an electric tongue jack better than a manual one? For frequent hookups, uneven sites and nighttime arrivals, the HB4500's minimal-effort operation and three LED work lights address real friction points [S3]. A manual jack still has the advantage of working without battery power, so confirm the manual-override arrangement on any electric jack you buy.

Sources and Methodology

Nothing on this page came from lifting a trailer. This review is built entirely from the Amazon Creators API verified product record for ASIN B004OK77L2 and the product listing feature bullets published on that listing, all retrieved on 2026-09-10, read line by line and interpreted for what each published figure means to someone hooking up an A-frame trailer.

That approach is genuinely useful for tongue jacks, because the decisive purchase variables — rated capacity, powered travel, drop-down leg length and current draw — are all published numbers you can check against your own trailer before spending anything. It cannot tell you how the unit endures five winters of road spray, and this page does not pretend otherwise; for that, ask the manufacturer about warranty terms and sealing, and check public safety and recall resources at CPSC [S1] and USA.gov [S2].

Explore More Reviews

Check out our in-depth reviews, comparisons, and buying guides.

Browse All Guides

Official Government Resources

CPSC consumer product safety

cpsc.gov

https://www.cpsc.gov/

These official government resources provide authoritative information on this topic.

Find Your Perfect Match

Expert guidance you can trust

Browse All Reviews